

Serving the Public. Serving the Profession.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS July 28, 2020 Via Zoom

* MINUTES*

President Alainna R. Mire called the videoconference to order at 9 a.m., Tuesday, July 28, 2020. Business was conducted in accordance with the agenda below.

Agenda Item 1. Roll Call

Ms. Larsen called roll and advised that the following members, who constituted a quorum, where present:

President, Alainna R. Mire President-Elect, H. Minor Pipes III Secretary, Patrick A. Talley, Jr. Treasurer, John E. McAuliffe, Jr. Immediate Past President, Robert A. Kutcher First Board District Representative, Scott L. Sternberg Second Board District Representative, Erin O. Braud Third Board District Representative, Dwazendra J. Smith Fourth Board District Representative, Todd S. Clemons Sixth Board District Representative, Edward L. Tarpley, Jr. Eighth Board District Representative, Lauren B. McKnight At-Large Member, Lynn Luker At-Large Member, Tina L. Suggs At-Large Member, Adrejia Boutte. Swafford From the Faculty of Loyola University College of Law, Monica Hof Wallace From the Faculty of Southern University Law Center, Donald W. North From the Louisiana State Law Institute, Zelda W. Tucker House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, Ann S. Siddall House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, D. Skylar Rosenbloom

Also present were:

Executive Director, Loretta Larsen, CAE Associate Executive Director, Cheri Cotogno Grodsky Executive Assistant, Jennifer H. France Absent were:

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors July 28, 2020 Minutes Page 2

Chair, Young Lawyers Division, Carrie L. Jones First Board District Representative, Lawrence J. Centola III Fifth Board District Representative, Kelly M. Rabalais Fifth Board District Representative, Adrian G. Nadeau Seventh Board District Representative, Paul L. Hurd House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Chair, Shayna Beevers Morvant

Agenda Item 2. Election of a Board of Governors Member to Serve on the Budget Committee

Ms. Mire noted that the Board would need to elect a member to serve a two-year term on the Budget Committee, which term would commence immediately and end at the 2022 Annual Meeting. Ms. Luker nominated Ms. Suggs, which nomination was seconded by Mr. Kutcher. Mr. North moved that the nominations be closed and Ms. Suggs was elected by acclamation.

Agenda Item 3. Dues Refund Requests Based on Legislative Positions

Ms. Mire reported that 13 members had requested refunds based on positions taken by the LSBA during the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. Ms. Mire reviewed the applicable provisions of the Bylaws noting that the Board could either elect to issue the refunds or refer the matter to arbitration. She added that the Executive Committee had met and was recommending that the refunds be made. She also announced the auditor's preliminary calculation was that \$1.20 (members practicing more than three years) and \$0.48 (members practicing three years or less) of mandatory dues were spent on legislative efforts during the 2019/2020 fiscal year. She added that this number was less than prior years due to a number of factors including House of Delegates action in June 2019 and spring 2020 meetings held virtually due to COVID-19.

After a brief discussion and upon motion by Mr. Kutcher and second by Mr. McAuliffe, the Board voted unanimously to issue the refunds rather than refer the matter to arbitration.

Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:10 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Prany

Patrick A. Talley, Jr. Secretary

APPROVED BY BOARD OF GOVERNORS AUGUST 29, 2020