

Serving the Public. Serving the Profession.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

3:30 p.m. ■ Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Via Zoom

MINUTES

President H. Minor Pipes III called the emergency meeting to order at 3:32 p.m. on Tuesday, October 19, 2021, via Zoom. The sole purpose of the Executive Session meeting was to discuss the *Boudreaux* litigation.

Ms. Larsen called roll and advised that the following members, who constituted a quorum, were participating:

President, H. Minor Pipes III

President-Elect, Stephen I. Dwyer

Immediate Past President, Alainna R. Mire

Treasurer, John E. "Eddie" McAuliffe, Jr.

Secretary, C.A. "Hap" Martin III

Chair, Young Lawyers Division, Graham H. Ryan

First Board District Representative, Lawrence J. Centola

First Board District Representative, Scott L. Sternberg

Second Board District Representative, Erin O. Braud (via email)

Third Board District Representative, Dwazendra J. Smith

Fourth Board District Representative, Todd S. Clemons

Fifth Board District Representative, Kelly M. Rabalais

Fifth Board District Representative, Adrian G. Nadeau

Sixth Board District Representative, Charles D. Elliott

Seventh Board District Representative, W. Michael Street

Eighth Board District Representative, Curtis R. Joseph, Jr.

At-Large Member, Tina L. Suggs

At-Large Member, Adrejia Boutté Swafford

At-Large Member, Blake R. David (via email)

From the Faculty of LSU Law Center, John M. Church

From the Tulane Law School, Ronald J. Scalise, Jr. (via email)

From the Louisiana State Law Institute, Lila Tritico Hogan

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Chair, Ann S. Siddall

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors October 19, 2021 Minutes Page 2

> House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, D. Skylar Rosenbloom House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, Keenan K. Kelly (via email)

Also present were:

President-Elect Designee, Shayna L. Sonnier Executive Director, Loretta Larsen, CAE Associate Executive Director, Cheri Cotogno Grodsky

Mr. Pipes reminded Board members that they were in Executive Session prior to beginning the meeting.

After some time and upon motion by Ms. Mire and second by Mr. Nadeau, the Board voted unanimously to go out of Executive Session.

Mr. McAuliffe moved adoption of the following resolution, which was seconded by Mr. Martin:

WHEREAS, the Board of Governors recognizes that the Louisiana State Bar Association is bound by Louisiana Supreme Court Rule XVIII, Section 6, as amended September 14, 2021;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Governors will take no action inconsistent with Rule XVIII, Section 6, and hereby suspends any Louisiana State Bar Association activity not within its scope, including but not limited to any action with respect to legislative policy provisions previously adopted by the House of Delegates (which provisions are now obsolete and no longer effective under the text of the Rule).

The Board unanimously voted to approve the motion, which is attached to these minutes.

Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:49 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted.

C.A. "Hap" Martin III Secretary

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors October 19, 2021 Minutes Page 3

APPROVED BY BOARD OF GOVERNORS VIA EMAIL OCTOBER 20, 2021

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors October 19, 2021 Minutes Page 4

LOUISIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION BOARD OF GOVERNORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Board of Governors recognizes that the Louisiana State Bar Association is bound by Louisiana Supreme Court Rule XVIII, Section 6, as amended September 14, 2021;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Governors will take no action inconsistent with Rule XVIII, Section 6, and hereby suspends any Louisiana State Bar Association activity not within its scope, including but not limited to any action with respect to legislative policy provisions previously adopted by the House of Delegates (which provisions are now obsolete and no longer effective under the text of the Rule).

Respectfully submitted:

2021-2022 Board of Governors

H. Minor Pipes III, President

Stephen I. Dwyer Alainna R. Mire John E. McAuliffe, Jr. C.A. Martin III Graham H. Ryan

Larry J. Centola Scott L. Sternberg Erin O. Braud

Dwazendra J. Smith Todd. S. Clemons

Kelly M. Rabalais

Adrian G. Nadeau Charles D. Elliott W. Michael Street Curtis R. Joseph, Jr.

Tina L. Suggs

Adrejia Boutté Swafford

Blake R. David John M. Church Ronald J. Scalise, Jr. Lila Tritico Hogan

Ann S. Siddall

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED BY BOARD OF GOVERNORS OCTOBER 19, 2021