

Serving the Public. Serving the Profession.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Monday, April 27, 2020 Via Zoom

MINUTES

President Robert A. Kutcher called the videoconference to order at 9 a.m., Monday, April 27, to consider the recommendations of the Legislation Committee.

Roll Call

Ms. Larsen called roll and advised that the following members, who constituted a quorum, were present:

President, Robert A. Kutcher

President-Elect, Alainna R. Mire

Immediate Past President, Barry H. Grodsky

Treasurer, Shayna L. Sonnier

Secretary, Patrick A. Talley, Jr.

Young Lawyers Division Chair, Scott L. Sternberg

First Board District Representative, Darryl J. Foster

First Board District Representative, Larry J. Centola

Second Board District Representative, Stephen I. Dwyer

Third Board District Representative, Shannon Seiler Dartez

Fourth Board District Representative, Todd S. Clemons

Fifth Board District Representative, Valerie T. Schexnayder

Fifth Board District Representative, Kelly M. Rabalais

Sixth Board District Representative, Edward L. Tarpley, Jr.

Seventh Board District Representative, Paul L. Hurd

At-Large Member, Monique Y. Metoyer

At-Large Member, Lynn Luker

At-Large Member, Tina L. Suggs

From the Faculty of Loyola University College of Law, Monica Hof Wallace

From the Faculty of Southern University Law Center, Donald W. North

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Chair, Shayna Beevers Morvant

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, Jeffrey A. Riggs

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, Ann S. Siddall

Also present were:

President-Elect Designee, H. Minor Pipes III
Treasurer-Elect, John E. McAuliffe, Jr.
Legislation Committee Chair, Keenan K. Kelly
LSBA Lobbyist, Larry L. Murray
Executive Director, Loretta Larsen, CAE
Associate Executive Director, Cheri Cotogno Grodsky
Ethics Counsel, Richard P. Lemmler, Jr.
Executive Assistant, Jennifer H. France

Louisiana State Law Institute Representative Zelda W. Tucker did not participate.

The Board reviewed the Legislation Committee's recommendations

Upon motion and second, the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to move to NO POSITION the Legislation Committee's recommendation to OPPOSE the following bills:

- HB 466
- HB 544
- HB 727
- HB 826
- HB 856
- SB 172
- SB 261
- SB 489
- SB 491
- SB 508

Upon motion and second, the Board voted to move to NO POSITION AND MONITOR the Legislation Committee's recommendation to OPPOSE HB 266, with Ms. Sonnier and Ms. Dartez dissenting.

Upon motion and second, the Board voted to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to SUPPORT the following bills:

- HB 106, with Messrs. Sternberg, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting;
- HB 238, with Messrs. Sternberg, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting;
- SB 13, with Messrs. Foster, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting:
- SB 49, with Messrs. Sternberg, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting;
- SB 77, with Messrs. Sternberg, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting;

- SB 219, with Messrs. Foster, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting.
- SB 328, with Messrs. Sternberg, Hurd and Tarpley dissenting;

Upon motion and second the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to SUPPORT the following bills.

- HB 759
- HB 820
- HCR 23, only if amended to extend the suspension 60 days after final adjournment of the 2020 Regular Session of the Legislature or 60 days after the expiration of the State's Declaration of a Public Health Emergency, whichever occurs later;
- HCR 25, only if amended to extend the suspension 60 days after final adjournment of the 2020 Regular Session of the Legislature or 60 days after the expiration of the State's Declaration of a Public Health Emergency, whichever occurs later;
- SB 511, only if amended to extend the suspension 60 days after final adjournment of the 2020 Regular Session of the Legislature or 60 days after the expiration of the State's Declaration of a Public Health Emergency, whichever occurs later; and
- SCR 20

Upon motion and second, the Board voted to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendation to SUPPORT HB 274 IF AMENDED to include a member appointed by and from the LSBA and to provide for additional/alternative, less-expensive methods/technology for remote notarization, with Mr. Hurd dissenting.

Upon motion and second, the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to OPPOSE the following bills:

- HB 9
- HB 148
- HB 214
- HB 258
- HB 287
- HB 341
- HB 348
- HB 363
- HB 380
- HB 505
- HB 509
- HB 532
- HB 574

- HB 628
- HB 692
- HB 787
- HB 827
- SB 46
- SB 94
- SB 97
- SB 98
- SB 148
- SB 242
- SB 266
- SB 315
- SD 313
- SB 347SB 408
- SB 418
- SB 419
- SB 439
- SB 449
- SB 454
- SB 464
- SB 471
- SB 482

Upon motion and second, the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendation to OPPOSE HB 492 unless it is amended to remove the \$500,000 damage limitation.

Upon motion and second, the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to OPPOSE the following bills, unless they are amended to specifically exclude the practice of law:

- HB 422
- HB 498
- HB 613
- HB 622

Upon motion and second, the Board voted UNANIMOUSLY to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendation to MONITOR:

• HB 730 to ensure that it is not amended to decrease the current jury trial threshold;

- SB 247 to ensure that it is not amended to do something other than codify and preserve the existing collateral source rule; and
- SB 345 to ensure that it is not amended to include lawyers.

Upon motion and second, the Board voted to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to OPPOSE the following bills, with Mr. Sternberg abstaining:

- HB 90
- SB 88

Upon motion and second, the Board voted to approve the Legislation Committee's recommendations to OPPOSE the following bills, with Mr. Hurd dissenting:

- HB 207
- HB 264
- HB 280
- HB 356
- SB 45
- SB 86

Mr. Kutcher thanked Mr. Kelly for his service as Chair of the Legislation Committee, and also thanked Mr. Murray, Mr. Lemmler, the Legislation Committee and the Board of Governors for their dedication.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Patrick A. Talley, Jr.

Prany

Secretary

APPROVED BY BOARD OF GOVERNORS MAY 20, 2020 VIA EMAIL