

Serving the Public. Serving the Profession.

BOARD OF GOVERNORS June 29, 2011

MINUTES

President Michael A. Patterson called to order the meeting of the Board of Governors of the Louisiana State Bar Association at 2 p.m., Wednesday, June 29, 2011, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Agenda Item 1. Roll Call

Present were:

President, Michael A. Patterson

President-Elect, James J. Davidson III

Treasurer, Mark A. Cunningham

Immediate Past President, Kim M. Boyle

Chair, Young Lawyers Section, Alainna R. Mire

First Board District Representative, Barry H. Grodsky

First Board District Representative, John H. Musser IV

Second Board District Representative, Richard K. Leefe

Fourth Board District Representative, Winfield E. Little, Jr.

Fifth Board District Representative, Darrel J. Papillion

Sixth Board District Representative, Charles D. Elliott

Seventh Board District Representative, Charles L. Kincade

At-Large Member, Karelia R. Stewart

At-Large Member, Franchesca L. Hamilton-Acker

At-Large Member, Cloyd Benjamin, Jr.

House of Delegates Liaison Committee Chair, Robert A. Kutcher

Also present were:

Executive Director, Loretta Larsen, CAE

Associate Executive Director, Cheri Cotogno Grodsky

Communications Director, Kelly Wells Ponder

Information Technology Director, Tony LaVerde

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors Minutes June 29, 2011 Page 2

Director of Member Outreach & Diversity, Kelly McNeil Legier Executive Assistant, Jacqueline E. Gay

Absent were:

Secretary, Carrick B. Inabnett

Third Board District Representative, Lawrence P. Simon, Jr.

Eighth Board District Representative, Ronald J. Miciotto

From the Faculty of Paul M. Hebert Law Center at LSU, John M. Church

From the Faculty of Tulane University Law School, Tania C. Tetlow

From the Louisiana State Law Institute, J. David Ziober

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, Michael B. Holmes

House of Delegates Committee on Liaison Member, George B. Recile

Agenda Item 2. Consent Calendar

The following items were included on the Consent Calendar and moved for approval without discussion and/or debate and unanimously approved:

a. Approval of Minutes

Consideration approval of minutes of the April 9 meeting in New Orleans, and May 21 meeting in Baton Rouge.

b. House of Delegates Appointment

Ratification of appointment of Charles C. Bourque, 32nd Judicial District, 2011/2013 term

Agenda Item 3. Report of the President – Michael A. Patterson

a. Committee to Review Proposed Changes to Bar Exam

Mr. Patterson reported that this committee had completed its work and submitted its report to the Louisiana Supreme Court in early June, as required by the Court. Mr. Elliott expressed his dissatisfaction with submission of the report prior to Board of Governors review. Mr. Patterson further reported that LSBA leaders would meet with COBA leaders on July 8 to discuss the report, and that the Supreme Court would likely consider this issue in the fall of 2011.

b. Other Matters

Mr. Patterson briefly reported on ongoing litigation. Upon motion by Mr. Little and second by Mr. Kutcher, with Mr. Elliott dissenting, the Board voted to give authority to the Executive Committee to negotiate final terms of any settlement in the *Weitz & Luxenberg* matter.

Louisiana State Bar Association Board of Governors Minutes June 29, 2011 Page 3

Agenda Item 4. Recognition of 2010/2011 Board Members – Michael A. Patterson

Mr. Patterson expressed his appreciation to the Board members for their support and assistance during his term as LSBA President. He presented gifts to all members of the Board and certificates to those members completing their terms.

Agenda Item 5. Presentation – James J. Davidson III

President-Elect James J. Davidson III thanked President Michael A. Patterson for his commitment to Bar Association through his leadership of the Board, and presented to him a gift from the Board of Governors.

Agenda Item 6. Other Matters

There were no additional items for discussion or consideration.

Adjourn

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Loretta Larsen

Assistant Secretary

APPROVED BY BOARD OF GOVERNORS AUGUST 27, 2011 NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA