

May 18, 2018

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES
ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS
ALL CHAIRPERSONS OF SPECIAL AND STANDING
COMMITTEES OF THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES
ALL CHAIRPERSONS OF SPECIAL AND STANDING COMMITTEES
OF THE LOUISIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION
ALL SECTION CHAIRPERSONS
ALL PAST PRESIDENTS

#### Dear Members:

The House of Delegates will meet immediately following the General Assembly scheduled for 9 a.m., Thursday, June 7, 2018, in the Magnolia Ballroom of Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort in Destin, Florida. Pursuant to the Rules of Procedure of this House, the following is the agenda:

### AGENDA

- I. Certification of Quorum by the Secretary
- II. Recognition of Deceased Members of the House of Delegates

## **General Session**

- III. Reports of Standing Committees of the House \*
- IV. Reports of Officers, Board of Governors, Standing Committees and Sections of the Louisiana State Bar Association \*
  - 1. Dona K. Renegar, President
  - 2. Barry H. Grodsky, President-Elect
  - 3. John E. McAuliffe, Jr., Secretary
  - 4. H. Minor Pipes III, Treasurer
- V. Reports of Special Committees of the Louisiana State Bar Association\*
- VI. Other Reports\*

\*Unless otherwise noted, reports will be filed without being read.

# **Activities of the House of Delegates**

# VII. Approval of Minutes

Consideration of approval of the Minutes of the January 20, 2018 Meeting of the House of Delegates, held in Baton Rouge.

## VIII. Old Business

Consideration of the following resolution which was tabled at the January 20, 2018 meeting:

Resolution from Dan M. Boudreaux to amend the LSBA Bylaws to create a dues waiver procedure for those lawyers who complete at least 20 hours of approved pro bono legal services per fiscal year of the LSBA.

#### IX. Election

Election of five (5) members of the House of Delegates to serve three-year terms on the Legislation Committee. To ensure geographically diverse representation, there shall be no more than four (4) House of Delegates representatives from a judicial district at any given time. Terms commence on July 1 immediately following the election and end on June 30, 2021. The following HOD members' terms are expiring:

- Thomas C. Cerullo
- James Christopher Erny
- C. Frank Holthaus
- Tina Louise Suggs
- Jay Christopher Zainey, Jr.

## X. Resolutions

## **Member Resolution**

1. Resolution from a group of LSBA members seeking clarification on the January 2010 House of Delegates policy against granting of civil immunities.

# Louisiana Board of Legal Specialization Resolution

2. Resolution from the Louisiana Board of Legal Specialization to amend its Family Law Standards to include a list of items of limited importance which may be included on the written examination.

Louisiana State Bar Association June 7, 2018 House of Delegates Agenda Page 3

## **Board of Governors Resolution**

3. Resolution from the Board of Governors to dissolve the Group Insurance Committee, assign the work previously handled by that committee to the Legal Malpractice Insurance Committee, and rename the Legal Malpractice Insurance Committee as the Insurance Committee.

## XI. Other Business

Consideration of any other business to come before the House of Delegates.

Sincerely,

John E. McAuliffe, Jr. 2017-2019 Secretary

Louisiana State Bar Association

JEM,jr/mhh

Enclosures: Minutes of January 20, 2018 House of Delegates Meeting

Resolutions

Rules of the House of Delegates

Parliamentary Procedure

cc: Louisiana Supreme Court, Office of Chief Justice Johnson

John T. Olivier, Clerk, Louisiana Supreme Court Clerk

Lauren McHugh Rocha, Louisiana Supreme Court

Deputy Judicial Administrator/General Counsel

Loretta Larsen, LSBA Executive Director

Charles B. Plattsmier, Chief Disciplinary Counsel

Leadership LSBA 2017/2018 Class

Local Bar Presidents and Executive Directors

Specialty Bar Presidents and Executive Directors

Larry L. Murray, The Picard Group