

Serving the Public. Serving the Profession.

HOUSE OF DELEGATES

9 a.m. ■ Thursday, June 8, 2017 Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort ■ Destin, FL

ACTIONS

Call to order at 10:35 a.m.

- I. Certification of Quorum by the Secretary Quorum certified.
- II. Recognition of Deceased Members of the House of Delegates

The House observed a moment of silence for the following individuals:

- H.F. Sockrider, Jr., who served as President in 1992-93 and in numerous other leadership positions prior to that, including as a member of the House of Delegates;
- Marian Meyer Berkett, who was the oldest living Louisiana lawyer until her death on June 4 at the age of 104.

General Session

- III. Reports of Standing Committees of the House * NO ORAL REPORTS.
- IV. Reports of Officers, Board of Governors, Standing Committees and Sections of the Louisiana State Bar Association *
 - 1. Darrel J. Papillion, President
 - 2. Dona K. Renegar, President-Elect
 - 3. H. Minor Pipes III, Treasurer
 - 4. Alainna R. Mire, Secretary

No oral reports were given, as those who had reports made them to the General Assembly, which immediately preceded the House of Delegates meeting. Written reports were distributed vie email in advance of the meeting.

V. Reports of Special Committees of the Louisiana State Bar Association* NO ORAL REPORTS. .

VI. Other Reports* NO REPORTS

Activities of the House of Delegates

VII. Old Business

President Papillion advised the House that the Louisiana Supreme Court had rejected the House of Delegates' June 2016 recommendation regarding flat fee arrangements, but had asked the Rules of Professional Conduct Committee to continue its work and submit an alternative proposal.

VIII. Approval of Minutes

Consideration of approval of the Minutes of the January 21, 2017 Meeting of the House of Delegates, held in Baton Rouge.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

IX. Elections

Election of five (5) members of the House of Delegates to serve three-year terms on the Legislation Committee. To ensure geographically diverse representation, there shall be no more than four (4) House of Delegates representatives from a judicial district at any given time. Terms commence on July 1 immediately following the election and end on June 30, 2020.

The House elected the following members:

- B. Scott Andrews, 19th Judicial District
- James E. Boren, 19th Judicial District
- Steven G. Durio, 15th Judicial District
- Lynn Luker, Civil Law & Litigation Section
- Ronald J. Sholes, 41st Judicial District

X. Resolutions

Committee Resolutions

- Resolution from the Children's Law Committee to constitute it as a standing committee of the Louisiana State Bar Association. *APPROVED*
- Resolution from the Transitioning Lawyers Committee requesting that the LSBA recommend to the Louisiana Supreme Court the creation of the LSBA Receivership Program, which program would create volunteer "Receivership Teams" to assist in instances of death or disability inactive status where there is no associate, partner or estate administrator.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

Member Resolutions

3. Resolution from Francis J. Barry, Jr. (41st Judicial District) requesting that the House of Delegates reconsider and rehear its January 21, 2017 approval of standards for specialization in Labor Law.

WITHDRAWN

4. Resolution from Francis J. Barry, Jr. (41st Judicial District) requesting that the House of Delegates reconsider and rehear its January 21, 2017 approval of standards for specialization in Employment Law.

WITHDRAWN

- 5. Resolution from R. Bradley Lewis (22nd Judicial District) asking that the LSBA:
 - support the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and Article I of the Louisiana Constitution, regarding freedom of speech and freedom of religion;
 - that the LSBA urge the repeal of all laws and municipal ordinances, regulations, rules, executive orders, and other practices that prohibit or impair the freedom of speech or freedom of religion, or that discriminate against persons because of their faith, their free exercise thereof, or because of their expression of their religious or political views;
 - urge the adoption of laws which protect freedom of speech and freedom of religion; and
 - send a copy of this resolution to the Governor of the State of Louisiana, the Speaker of the Louisiana House of Representatives, the President of the Louisiana State Senate, and to the Louisiana Municipal Association.

WITHDRAWN

6. Resolution from Past President James J. Davidson III to create a First Amendment Preservation Section and adopt bylaws for same. *FAILED*

XI. Other Business

Consideration of any other business to come before the House of Delegates. *No further business*.

Meeting adjourned at noon.