

Louisiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Division

DATE: SEPTEMBER 24, 2018

TO: MEMBERS OF THE LSBA YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION

RE: QUALIFYING OF CANDIDATES FOR YLD COUNCIL POSITIONS

Dear Members:

In accordance with the election procedures and Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division, you are notified that the Secretary of the Young Lawyers Division is prepared to receive qualifying notices of candidates for the following positions:

Young Lawyers Division District Representatives: One member each to be elected from the First, Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Eighth districts, all for two-year terms.

The Board of Governors has voted to conduct elections using electronic ballots only. In order to vote electronically, you will be required to login to your member account at www.LSBA.org (the member login is at the top left of every page).

The following districts govern the geographic areas for members of the Young Lawyers Division Council:

DISTRICTS

District One	Orleans Parish
District Two	Parishes of Jefferson, St. Bernard, Plaquemines, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, Ascension, Assumption & St. James
District Three	Parishes of Lafayette, Iberia, Lafourche, Terrebonne, St. Mary & St. Martin
District Four	Parishes of Calcasieu, Cameron, Acadia, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, St. Landry & Vermilion

District Five Parishes of East Baton Rouge, East and West Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena,

Tangipahoa, Washington & St. Tammany

District Six Parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Grant, Iberville, LaSalle, Natchitoches,

Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Sabine, Vernon, Winn & West Baton Rouge

District Seven Parishes of Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East and West Carroll, Franklin,

Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas & Union

District Eight Parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Red River & Webster

Candidates must maintain their preferred mailing address in a parish within the Representative's respective district.

Qualifying notices must be completed online at www.lsba.org/goto/elections. The deadline for qualifying online is midnight CST, Monday, October 22, 2018.

PLEASE QUALIFY <u>ONLY</u> IF THERE IS A VACANCY IN YOUR DISTRICT. You may also complete an optional biographical data form on the LSBA website. Brief biographical sketches on those candidates who choose to complete the biographical data form will be posted on the LSBA website thereafter.

A member also may nominate another member who would otherwise qualify as a candidate. However, a member who nominates another certifies, by completing the online form, that the permission of the member nominated has been obtained.

Please note that under Section 2D of Article II(C) of the Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division that the term of office for district representatives shall be two years. No representative shall be elected to serve more than two complete consecutive terms. With the exception of the Immediate Past Chair, each member of the Council must not have reached his/her thirty-ninth (39th) birthday or commenced his/her fifth (5th) year in practice, whichever is <u>later</u>, prior to the beginning of his/her term in office. Terms of office commence with the Young Lawyers Division Annual Meeting scheduled for June 5, 2019.

MEMBERSHIP ON THE COUNCIL <u>REQUIRES</u> ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS AROUND THE STATE AND AT OUR ANNUAL MEETING. ONLY THOSE MEMBERS WHO CAN FULFILL SUCH RESPONSIBILITIES SHOULD QUALIFY AS CANDIDATES.

Sincerely,

Carrie L. Jones

Carrie LeBlan Jones

Secretary

CLJ/mhh