

DATE: SEPTEMBER 19, 2016

TO: MEMBERS OF THE LOUISIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION

RE: ELECTIONS

Dear Members:

In accordance with the election procedures adopted by the Board of Governors on June 10, 2016, and pursuant to the Articles of Incorporation of this Association, attached is a letter advising members of the action of the Nominating Committee.

The Board of Governors has voted to conduct elections using electronic ballots only. In order to vote electronically, you will need to login to your member account at www.LSBA.org (the member login is at the top left of every page).

This correspondence also serves as official notification that the Secretary of the Association is prepared to receive qualifying notices of candidates for the following positions:

- BOARD OF GOVERNORS: One member to be elected by and from each of the First, Second, Third and Fifth Board of Governors Districts, for three-year terms beginning at the *adjournment* of the 2017 LSBA Annual Meeting and ending at the *adjournment* of the 2020 LSBA Annual Meeting.
- NOMINATING COMMITTEE: A total of 15 members for terms of one year each to be elected by and from the following districts: District 1A (Parish of Orleans), 4 members; District 1B (Parishes of Plaquemines, St. Bernard and St. Tammany), 1 member; District 2A (East Baton Rouge Parish), 2 members; District 2B (Jefferson Parish), 2 members; District 2C (Parishes of Ascension, Assumption, East Feliciana, Iberville, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Washington, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana), 1 member; District 3A (Lafayette Parish), 1 member; District 3B (Parishes of Acadia, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. Martin, St. Mary and Vermilion), 1 member; District 3C (Parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Evangeline, Grant, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Rapides, Sabine, St. Landry and Vernon), 1 member; District 3D (Parishes of Bossier and Caddo), 1 member; and District 3E (Parishes of Bienville, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, DeSoto, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Red River, Richland, Tensas, Union, Webster, West Carroll and Winn), 1 member. Terms shall begin at the adjournment of the 2017 LSBA Annual Meeting and end at the adjournment of the 2018 LSBA Annual Meeting.
- LOUISIANA STATE BAR ASSOCIATION HOUSE OF DELEGATES: From the following Judicial Districts: Twentieth (2 seats); Twenty-first (9 seats); Twenty-second (12 seats); Twenty-third (5 seats); Twenty-fourth (19 seats); Twenty-fifth (2 seats); Twenty-sixth (6 seats); Twenty-seventh (4 seats); Twenty-eighth (1 seat); Twenty-ninth (3 seats); Thirty-first (1 seat); Thirty-second (5 seats); Thirty-third (2 seats); Thirty-fourth (5 seats); Thirty-fifth (1 seat); Thirty-sixth (2 seats); Thirty-seventh (1 seat); Thirty-eighth (1 seat); Thirty-ninth (1 seat); Fortieth (3 seats); Parish of Orleans (32 seats); and Forty-second (2 seats), all for two-year terms, beginning at the *commencement* of the Annual Meeting in 2017 and ending with the *commencement* of the Annual Meeting in 2019.
- AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION HOUSE OF DELEGATES: One (1) delegate to be elected from the active membership. Candidates MUST be members of the

<u>American Bar Association</u>. The elected delegate shall serve a term of two years beginning with the adjournment of the American Bar Association's 2017 Annual Meeting and ending with the adjournment of the American Bar Association's 2019 Annual Meeting, all as provided in Paragraph 6.4(e) of the ABA Constitution.

The following Board Districts govern the geographic areas only for the election of Board of Governors members:

DISTRICT ONE Orleans Parish

DISTRICT TWO Parishes of Jefferson, St. Bernard, Plaquemines, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist,

Ascension, Assumption & St. James

DISTRICT THREE Parishes of Lafayette, Iberia, Lafourche, Terrebonne, St. Mary & St. Martin

DISTRICT FOUR Parishes of Calcasieu, Cameron, Acadia, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, St. Landry

& Vermilion

DISTRICT FIVE Parishes of East Baton Rouge, East and West Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena,

Tangipahoa, Washington & St. Tammany

DISTRICT SIX Parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Grant, Iberville, LaSalle, Natchitoches,

Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Sabine, Vernon, Winn & West Baton Rouge

DISTRICT SEVEN Parishes of Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East and West Carroll, Franklin,

Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas & Union

DISTRICT EIGHT Parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Red River & Webster

Qualifying notices must be completed online at www.lsba.org/goto/elections. The deadline for qualifying online is midnight CST, Monday, October 17, 2016.

A member also may nominate another member who would otherwise qualify as a candidate. A member who nominates another certifies, completing the online qualifying form, that the permission of the nominated member has been obtained.

Please note the provisions of Article VI, Section 1 of the Articles of Incorporation:

No member of this Association shall be a candidate for or hold more than one office in this Association at any one time. The term "office" shall include President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, member of the Board of Governors of this Association, and member of the House of Delegates of this Association. The term "office" shall not include members of the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association, or an office in a section of this Association. The House of Delegates Liaison to the Board of Governors shall not be subject to this prohibition.

Being elected to any of the positions listed *requires* attendance at meetings. By completing the online qualifying form, candidates certify that they intend to fulfill this responsibility.

Sincerely,

Alainna R. Mire Secretary

ARM/mhh