

## Louisiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Division



September 19, 2016

Dear LSBA Young Lawyers Division Member:

In accordance with Section 5E of Article II (A) of the Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division, the Young Lawyers Council has met and nominated the following officers for 2017-2018:

Chair-Elect Dylan T. Thriffiley, New Orleans Secretary Scott L. Sternberg, New Orleans

Bradley J. Tate, Mandeville, who currently serves as Chair-Elect, will automatically succeed to the office of Chair for 2017-2018.

Additional nominations for Chair-Elect and Secretary may be made by written petition addressed to the Young Lawyers Division. *NOTE:* Due to the rotation of selection of YLD officers, any nominee for Chair-Elect for 2017-2018 *shall* be a resident of or actively practicing law in the Parishes of Orleans, Jefferson, St. Bernard or Plaquemines. Any nominee for Secretary for 2017-2018 *shall* be a resident of or actively practicing law in any parish in Louisiana. Petitions for nomination must be signed by fifteen (15) members of the Young Lawyers Division and must be United States postmarked by **October 17, 2016**. A short statement of the candidate's qualifications, in the form of a biographical sketch or resume, should be enclosed with the petition. Biographical information will be placed on the LSBA Web site and sketches should be 75 words or less.

Candidates for the office of Chair-Elect shall not have reached their thirty-ninth (39th) birthday or commenced their fifth (5<sup>th</sup>) year of practice, whichever is *later*, prior to the beginning of the term of office. Candidates for the office of Secretary shall not have reached their thirty-ninth (39th) birthday or commenced their fifth (5<sup>th</sup>) year of practice, whichever is *later*, prior to the beginning of the term of office. Terms of office commence with the Young Lawyers Division Annual Meeting scheduled for June 7, 2017.

In accordance with the procedures determined by the Young Lawyers Division, petitions must be addressed to the LSBA Young Lawyers Division, 601 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130.

Again, petitions must be United States postmarked no later than October 17, 2016.

Sincerely,

Dylan T. Thriffiley

lylan J. Jhuffiley

Secretary

DTT/mhh

Enclosures (nominees' biographical information)